2015 WoWE Annual Honors Announced at WINDPOWER

Home » About » What's Happening » 2015 WoWE Annual Honors Announced at WINDPOWER

For immediate release:
For More Information Contact: 
Kristen Graf- 

The winners of the Women of Wind Energy (WoWE) Awards were announced at the annual luncheon held at AWEA's WINDPOWER 2015 Conference in Orlando, FL. The awards put the spotlight on professionals at the pinnacle of the industry as well as on the up-and-coming next generation of leaders. All three winners provide examples of achievement, creativity and courage. 

“These awards offer a critical opportunity to showcase successful women and men across the sector – to give them the recognition they really deserve, to appreciate their accomplishments, and for others to potentially aspire to follow their paths.,” said Kristen Graf, WoWE Executive Director. 

2015 WoWE Award Winners

Rising Star Erin Wiedower is currently the Business Development Manager for Goldwind Americas. Her current colleagues describe her with one word “formidable.” When she sets out to do something she marshals her knowledge, insights and determination and moves ahead to get it done. Over the past few years she has established herself as an important and knowledgeable resource for the wind industry as a whole. Erin has been featured as a moderator and session chair at WINDPOWER, has led panels at Siting Conferences, and has been selected to present at international conferences. She has continued her professional development, diversifying her own experience to reflect the complexity of the wind business. Erin has had a strong impact on the companies she’s worked for, has already made significant contributions to the wind industry in challenging times and will continue to be a formidable voice and face in the future.

Champion Award – Ed DeMeo is currently the President of Renewable Energy Consulting Services, Inc., Palo Alto, California. Ed has been a champion of renewable energy since the late 1970s and has in so many ways led by example with his honesty, integrity and successful achievements in so many areas of wind energy from technical standards, to policy analysis to solid exploration and quantification of a guiding wind vision.

“Describing what Ed has that helps others grow, create, and achieve their goals in their work lives, I would say he has an inspired spirit of hope, a warm and sympathetic heart, and a fine history of accomplishment,” said Lisa Daniels, WoWE Board Member and Executive Director of Windustry.

Woman of the Year – Susan Reilly is President of RES Americas, Past Chair of the AWEA Board of Directors, and serves on the Board of the Wind Energy Foundation. Susan is described as a tireless champion of wind in Europe and the US with more than 20 years in the industry. She has been instrumental in advancing DOE’s wind vision and in educating those in and out of the industry of the essential role wind can play in combating climate change. This has translated into numerous public appearances and interviews where she consistently champions the role of wind as the lowest-cost solution to manage climate risk. She has also been a mentor to other individuals in the industry both generously and objectively.  She is frequently described as developing the next generation of leaders and shares her courage and conviction to branch out and spread the "wind word" to other organizations outside of wind that need to hear more about what we can do.


About Women of Wind Energy:

WoWE was founded in 2005 and works to promote the education, professional development, and advancement of women to achieve a strong diversified workforce and support a robust renewable energy economy.  Since that time, WoWE has grown to an organization with 35 local chapters in the US and Canada, an annual luncheon at WINDPOWER, and a growing grassroots network of more than 2,000 women and men.  In 2010, WoWE launched the first-ever WoWE Leadership Forum and will host its sixth forum in November 2015. The organization is supported through hundreds of volunteer hours and the generous contributions of GE Energy, the American Wind Energy Association, DNV GL and a large number of other leading renewable energy companies, as well as membership contributions.